Chateau    de Latour Chateau    de Latour
Hôtel ***    Restaurant
Site créé par Michel Blaise © 2014 - 2017 www.mbcom.be
Château de Latour Bernard THOMAS   1 Rue du 24 Août B-6761 Latour-Virton Belgium Tel : +32 63 57 83 52 Fax : +32 63 60 82 19 info@chateaudelatour.be
www.chateaudelatour.be
Vestiges prove that there was a fortification on a promontory, near a Roman road in the 3rd century.  Later, a medieval "farm castle" was built at this place. In 1433, the castle was besieged and destroyed.  The owner, the terrible Lord Wainchelain (descendant of the Lords of Latour) married his daughter to Henri Bayer de Boppard, chamberlain of Duke of Lorraine.  It seems that the castle was rebuilt by Henri Bayer de Boppard and stayed the property of this family until the end of 16th century.  Unfortunately, en 1657 the castle of Latour was besieged, once again, and burned down by the French troops.  The last heir, who was ruined, sold the Seigneury of Latour to Maximilien Baillet, Receveur des Domaines in Virton, in 1662. Later, the family Baillet was ennobled and in 1744, Austrian Empress Marie- Thérèse converted the Seigneury de Latour into an earldom.  Maximilien Antoine Charles Baillet de Latour, the most famous of this family, was born in 1737.  He was a field marshal of the Austrian imperial army and the owner of a Belgian cavalry, well- known as "Dragons de Latour". In 1794, his troops besieged the fortified place Landrecies which was guarded by the French republican troops.  These ones had to capitulate and Maxim Baillet de Latour took 7000 prisoners.  In reprisals, the Commander of the revolutionary troops set fire to the castle of Latour in April 1794. The castle had entirely been neglected for about 2 centuries.  During this time, the local inhabitants accelerated its deterioration by collecting building materials, mainly dressed stones. In 1978, Bernard Thomas's father bought the castle in order to restore it.  It's been a hard work; especially since the old walls had been raised using natural lime and he had to use the same building materials.  The progressive restoration led to the restaurant opening in 1981 and the hotel, in 1982.
Maximilien Antoine de Baillet Latour  buys the Castle in 1662 for an amount of 600 Brabant florins
As compensation for the Baillet's loyalty to the House of Austria, Empress Marie- Thérèse converts the Seigneurie Latour into an earldom in 1744.
1900
The Laval family on the farmyard before 1914.
1962
Click here to book the hotel online Click here to book the hotel online
Chateau    de Latour Chateau    de Latour
Hôtel ***    Restaurant
Site créé par Michel Blaise © 2014 - 2017 www.mbcom.be
Château de Latour Bernard THOMAS   1 Rue du 24 Août B-6761 Latour-Virton Belgium Tel : +32 63 57 83 52 Fax : +32 63 60 82 19 info@chateaudelatour.be
Vestiges prove that there was a fortification on a promontory, near a Roman road in the 3rd century.  Later, a medieval "farm castle" was built at this place. In 1433, the castle was besieged and destroyed.  The owner, the terrible Lord Wainchelain (descendant of the Lords of Latour) married his daughter to Henri Bayer de Boppard, chamberlain of Duke of Lorraine.  It seems that the castle was rebuilt by Henri Bayer de Boppard and stayed the property of this family until the end of 16th century.  Unfortunately, en 1657 the castle of Latour was besieged, once again, and burned down by the French troops.  The last heir, who was ruined, sold the Seigneury of Latour to Maximilien Baillet, Receveur des Domaines in Virton, in 1662. Later, the family Baillet was ennobled and in 1744, Austrian Empress Marie- Thérèse converted the Seigneury de Latour into an earldom.  Maximilien Antoine Charles Baillet de Latour, the most famous of this family, was born in 1737.  He was a field marshal of the Austrian imperial army and the owner of a Belgian cavalry, well-known as "Dragons de Latour". In 1794, his troops besieged the fortified place Landrecies which was guarded by the French republican troops.  These ones had to capitulate and Maxim Baillet de Latour took 7000 prisoners.  In reprisals, the Commander of the revolutionary troops set fire to the castle of Latour in April 1794. The castle had entirely been neglected for about 2 centuries.  During this time, the local inhabitants accelerated its deterioration by collecting building materials, mainly dressed stones. In 1978, Bernard Thomas's father bought the castle in order to restore it.  It's been a hard work; especially since the old walls had been raised using natural lime and he had to use the same building materials.  The progressive restoration led to the restaurant opening in 1981 and the hotel, in 1982.
Maximilien Antoine de Baillet Latour  buys the Castle in 1662 for an amount of 600 Brabant florins
As compensation for the Baillet's loyalty to the House of Austria, Empress Marie- Thérèse converts the Seigneurie Latour into an earldom in 1744.
1900
The Laval family on the farmyard before 1914.
1962
Cliquez ici pour réserver l’hôtel en ligne Cliquez ici pour réserver l’hôtel en ligne
Chateau    de Latour Chateau    de Latour
Hôtel ***    Restaurant
Site créé par Michel Blaise © 2014 - 2017 www.mbcom.be
Château de Latour Bernard THOMAS   1 Rue du 24 Août B-6761 Latour-Virton Belgium Tel : +32 63 57 83 52 Fax : +32 63 60 82 19 info@chateaudelatour.be
www.chateaudelatour.be
Vestiges prove that there was a fortification on a promontory, near a Roman road in the 3rd century.  Later, a medieval "farm castle" was built at this place. In 1433, the castle was besieged and destroyed.  The owner, the terrible Lord Wainchelain (descendant of the Lords of Latour) married his daughter to Henri Bayer de Boppard, chamberlain of Duke of Lorraine.  It seems that the castle was rebuilt by Henri Bayer de Boppard and stayed the property of this family until the end of 16th century.  Unfortunately, en 1657 the castle of Latour was besieged, once again, and burned down by the French troops.  The last heir, who was ruined, sold the Seigneury of Latour to Maximilien Baillet, Receveur des Domaines in Virton, in 1662. Later, the family Baillet was ennobled and in 1744, Austrian Empress Marie- Thérèse converted the Seigneury de Latour into an earldom.  Maximilien Antoine Charles Baillet de Latour, the most famous of this family, was born in 1737.  He was a field marshal of the Austrian imperial army and the owner of a Belgian cavalry, well- known as "Dragons de Latour". In 1794, his troops besieged the fortified place Landrecies which was guarded by the French republican troops.  These ones had to capitulate and Maxim Baillet de Latour took 7000 prisoners.  In reprisals, the Commander of the revolutionary troops set fire to the castle of Latour in April 1794. The castle had entirely been neglected for about 2 centuries.  During this time, the local inhabitants accelerated its deterioration by collecting building materials, mainly dressed stones. In 1978, Bernard Thomas's father bought the castle in order to restore it.  It's been a hard work; especially since the old walls had been raised using natural lime and he had to use the same building materials.  The progressive restoration led to the restaurant opening in 1981 and the hotel, in 1982.
Cliquez ici pour réserver l’hôtel en ligne Cliquez ici pour réserver l’hôtel en ligne
Maximilien Antoine de Baillet Latour  buys the Castle in 1662 for an amount of 600 Brabant florins
As compensation for the Baillet's loyalty to the House of Austria, Empress Marie- Thérèse converts the Seigneurie Latour into an earldom in 1744.
1900
The Laval family on the farmyard before 1914.
1962